FEMA approves public assistance for 4 Ohio counties

A Year of Recovery
060319 milton tornado damage 3

DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) – FEMA has opened its Public Assistance Program to four counties affected by severe storms at the end of May.

Local governments in Columbiana, Greene, Mercer, and Montgomery counties, state agencies, and certain private, non-profit organizations are now eligible for federal funds for eligible storm-related response and recovery efforts, including debris removal, emergency protective measures, and damaged infrastructure.

“Responding to the Memorial Day storms cost local governments millions of dollars, straining local budgets,” said Governor DeWine. “Today, FEMA has agreed to pick up some of those expenses, bringing some much-needed budgetary relief. We are grateful for their assistance.”

Ohio EMA Executive Director Sima Merick included a preliminary damage assessment of about $18.1 million in eligible costs in the June 27 request to FEMA. Two-thirds of that was debris removal.

Gov. DeWine declared a state of emergency for three of these counties (Greene, Mercer, and Montgomery) on May 28 after 21 tornadoes hit Ohio.

He requested a Presidential Disaster Declaration on June 11, which was approved by President Trump on June 18.

Grab the FREE WDTN News App from the Apple Store or Google play. Stay up to date with all the local news, weather and sports as well as live newscasts and events as they happen.

news-app-download-apple news-app-download-google-play

Follow Us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the latest news, weather and sports.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video on WDTN.com

Don't Miss

Interactive Radar

More As Seen on 2 NEWS