Still more awards for Flyers’ Toppin, Grant

University of Dayton

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (WDTN) – For the first time since the 2003-04 season, the winners of the Oscar Robertson Trophy and Henry Iba Award come from the same school as Dayton sophomore forward Obi Toppin and head coach Anthony Grant headline this season’s individual award winners in voting by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

The University of Dayton captured the nation’s interest early in the season as Toppin, a consensus All-American and one of the country’s top shooters, and Grant guided the Flyers on a 20-game win streak to close the regular season, a school-record 29 wins and the Atlantic 10 Conference title with a school-record 18-0 conference mark.

Dayton had its first winners of the AP’s top awards, joining St. Joseph’s in 2004 (with Jameer Nelson and coach Phil Martelli) as the only programs in the past 40 seasons to claim both in the same year.

Grab the FREE WDTN News App from the Apple Store or Google play. Stay up to date with all the local news, weather and sports as well as live newscasts and events as they happen.

news-app-download-apple news-app-download-google-play

Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and Instagram for all the latest news, weather and sports.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More from 2 Sports

More Ohio State University
More University of Dayton
More Wright State University
More Dayton Dragons
More Operation Football

Latest Video on

Interactive Radar

More As Seen on 2 NEWS