McDonald re-elected Trotwood mayor by 6 votes

Your Local Election HQ
Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

TROTWOOD, Ohio (WDTN) – Mary McDonald will remain the mayor of Trotwood after an official recount declared her the winner by six votes, according to the Montgomery County Board of Elections.

The Montgomery County Board of Elections held a recount Wednesday of multiple races, including the Trotwood mayor race. McDonald came out the winner, defeating Yvette Page by six votes.

Page initially won the mayor’s race on Election Night, edging McDonald by two votes. After provisional and absentee ballots were counted, McDonald won by five votes. Due to the closesness of the race, an automatic recount was triggered.

Other races were also recounted Wednesday, including Vandalia Council, Perry Township Trustee, Northridge Board of Education, and Dayton Board of Education.

Corey M. Follick (1,444 votes), Constance R. Woods (1,145 votes) and Bob Ahlers (954 votes) were elected to the Vandalia City Council after the recount.

Josh Hartshorn (483 votes) edged out Dale E. Seim (482 votes) by one vote for Perry Township Trustee.

Jacinda Fugate (569 votes), James M. Dillon (364 votes), and Angela Glassburn (357 votes) were elected to the Northridge Board of Education.

The election will be certified at the next Montgomery County Commissioners meeting.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More As Seen on 2 NEWS

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More stories not to miss...


More BestReviews

Latest News Videos

Miami Valley reacts to FDA panel's vote on booster shot

North Port PD PIO Josh Taylor joins WFLA Now to discuss Gabby Petito, Brian Laundrie case

What comes next after FDA panel's rejection of Pfizer's third booster shot?

Police update on missing North Port woman Gabby Petito

ODOT steps into the future with remote-controlled mower

US lawmakers concerned about negative impact Instagram has on teens' mental health

More News