DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) – A new law designed to protect people from repeat drunk drivers took effect Tuesday. It’s called Annie’s Law.
The new law increases penalties for first-time offenders and implements a new system to stop repeat offenders.
The law will reduce a 13-month license suspension period by half for first offenders if they use an interlock device — a breathalyzer that prevents a car from starting if the driver’s blood alcohol content is more than the legal limit.
The law also increases mandatory minimum driver’s license suspensions for first-time OVI offenders – from six months to one year.
During sentencing, judges will also be able to look at 10 years-worth of driving records, rather than just six.
Janet Carpenter, whose daughter Sophie Kerrigan died in a car crash back in 2012, said she welcomes any law that will crack down on OVI incidents.
She said losing someone to such an incident is a life changing event that could happen to anyone.
“You will never have that same life again,” Carpenter said.
“You will never have the extreme peace, at least that I use to, knowing my kids were safe, going to school, they were productive individuals – you don’t have that anymore.
“And I’ll tell you what I worry about: I worry about who’s next? It’s not, ‘Oh it won’t happen’. It’s scary. Who are you going to know who’s going to lose another child to that situation. Another loved one.”
Sgt. Chris Colbert of Dayton’s Ohio State Highway Patrol noted last year, OVI related fatalities accounted for nearly 40 percent of traffic related deaths in Ohio.
“On average there’s between high 900 to 1,200 people a year killed in fatal crashes,” Colbert said.
“You take away a third of that, that’s 300 people. That is significant – every person that is killed is someone’s brother, son, mother, father, cousin. Those people are important to someone.”
The new law is named after Annie Rooney who was struck and killed by a repeat drunk driving offender four years ago, in Ross County.
Neighboring states with similar laws have seen O-V-I deaths cut in half.
Governor John Kasich signed Annie’s Law back in January.Keep checking WDTN.com for the latest news, weather and sports. To get alerts for breaking news, grab the FREE WDTN News App for iPhone or Android. You can also sign up for email alerts here.Don’t miss another post on Facebook or Twitter for all the latest breaking news