7 DPS seniors awarded $1,000 scholarships

Local News

DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) – Dayton Public Schools said Monday one graduating senior from each Dayton Public high school received a $1,000 Franklin B. Walter Scholarship provided by the Montgomery County Educational Service Center (MCESC).

DPS said the Franklin B. Walter Scholarship is named in honor of the longtime State Superintendent who served between 1977 and 1991.

Students across the county were nominated for the honor by their school district. Nomination criteria included student awards, activities, GPA and attendance. Students were also asked to write an essay about a teacher that has positively impacted their lives. Those teachers will receive $500 to spend on classroom materials.

The ceremony to honor this year’s recipients was held virtually due to COVID-19. You can watch the ceremony here to hear more about the DPS recipients and teachers of influence. 

DPS scholarship recipients and teachers of influence include:

  • Belmont High School
    Bousseyna Ousman
    Teacher of influence: Mr. Ridgeway 
  • David H. Ponitz CTC
    Ilkhan Lutfiyev
    Teacher of influence: Mr. Kaiser 
  • Dunbar Early College High School
    James Myles Lacking
    Teacher of influence: Mr. Lacking, Sr. 
  • Meadowdale High School
    Nariah Johnson
    Teacher of influence: Ms. Cummins 
  • Mound Street Academy
    Jurgen Harvey
    Teacher of influence: Ms. Taylor 
  • Stivers School for the Arts
    Peter Rhynard
    Teacher of influence: Ms. Daniels 
  • Thurgood Marshall STEM High School
    Michole Ivery
    Teacher of influence: Mr. Richards 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video on WDTN.com

Don't Miss

Interactive Radar

More As Seen on 2 NEWS