DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) – Two new traffic laws are now in effect in Ohio.
One focuses on distracted driving, while the other expands the “move over” requirements.
House Bill 95 now makes any kind of distracted driving a secondary offense. Those distractions include changing the radio, using a tablet, reading or applying makeup.
The cost of a violation is now an extra $100, or the driver can opt to take a safe driving course.
Additionally, Senate Bill 127 amends the state’s “Move Over” law to include sanitation workers.
Rumpke, one of the driving forces at getting this “Slow Down and Go Around” program passed following the death of a driver in Middletown on July 30.
If drivers fail to move over an extra lane, they can face a misdemeanor charge and a $300 fine for the first offense.
Lt. Matt Schmenk, the commander of Xenia’s Ohio State Highway Patrol post, said this is a common courtesy that should be practiced more often.
“What we would ask is just that anytime, even if they’re not designated in this ‘move over law,’ if you see somebody in their car and they’re outside of their car changing a tire, we just ask people to move over,” said Schmenk.