Four solar co-ops launch to help Ohioans go solar

Local News

A rooftop is covered with solar panels at the Brooklyn Navy Yard, Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2017, in New York. ConEdison Solutions installed 3,152 solar panels on the roof of Building 293 in 2016. The new panels will generate 1.1 million kilowatt hours of energy per year, according to the mayor’s office. The New York State Energy Research and Development Authority provided more than $600,000 in incentives for the project. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan)

DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) – Nonprofit group Solar United Neighbors is launching four solar co-ops in Ohio on Saturday, May 9, in AkronCuyahoga CountyDayton, and Youngstown.

The co-ops will help homeowners and small business owners learn about solar together and purchase solar panels and electric vehicle chargers at a group rate from a single installer. 

After a competitive bidding process facilitated by Solar United Neighbors, a group of volunteers from each co-op will select a solar company to complete the co-op’s installations. 

Solar United Neighbors will host an online event to launch the four solar co-ops on Saturday, May 9, at 6:00 p.m.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video on

Don't Miss

Interactive Radar

More As Seen on 2 NEWS