Del Rio honored at Ohio Peace Officers’ Memorial Ceremony

Miami Valley News

LONDON, Ohio (WDTN) – Fallen Dayton Police Detective Jorge Del Rio was honored Thursday in the Ohio Peace Officers’ Memorial Ceremony.

Del Rio was shot and killed in the line of duty in 2019.

Other officers honored included those who died in the line of duty in 2019 and 2020:

  • William L. Brewer Jr., Clermont County Sheriff’s Office
  • Anthony Dia, Toledo Police Department
  • Kaia LaFay Grant, Springdale Police Department
  • Adam McMillan, Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office
  • James M. Skernivitz, Cleveland Police Department
  • Dale J. Woods, Colerain Township Police Department

Three historical inductions also occured during this year’s event:

  • Patrolman Charles William Giles Ironton Police Department, End of Watch: Nov. 26, 1988,
  • Police Officer Claude McCormick Oakwood Public Safety Department, End of Watch: Aug. 29, 1933
  • Special Policeman William T. Hyatt Wellsville Police Department, End of Watch: Feb. 25, 1923

The ceremony was held at the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy in London, Ohio. Due to the continuing pandemic, public attendance was limited to family members of those officers being honored, along with their agency representatives and event participants.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video on

Don't Miss

Interactive Radar

More As Seen on 2 NEWS