County to distribute $13.2 million in COVID-19 aid to cities, townships

Local News

MONTGOMERY COUNTY, Ohio (WDTN) – Montgomery County received $13.2 million in COVID-19 emergency aid and will begin distribution to cities and townships soon.

County Auditor Karl Keith said that 31 cities and townships in the county will receive a portion of this aid. The City of Dayton will receive the largest share, 62.2 percent of the relief funds, which is $8.2 million.

The funding comes from the federal CARES Act, which established a $150 billion Coronavirus Relief Fund. A bill signed by Governor Mike DeWine dictates that $350 million in relief funding provided to the state will be distributed to Ohio’s local governments through their county auditors.

Each city or township must have its legislative body pass a resolution requesting the funds from the county auditor before they can receive their share of the distribution. These funds can only be use d for unexpected expenditures incurred due to COVID-19 after March 1, 2020.

Kettering, Huber Heights, Riverside, Trotwood and Centerville will get the next largest portions of the funds:

  • Kettering: $783,000
  • Huber Heights: $529,000
  • Riverside: $359,000
  • Trotwood: $349,000
  • Centerville: $340,000

A table outlining the amount of funding each jurisdiction will receive can be reviewed below.

Grab the FREE WDTN News App from the Apple Store or Google play. Stay up to date with all the local news, weather and sports as well as live newscasts and events as they happen.

news-app-download-apple news-app-download-google-play

Follow Us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the latest news, weather and sports.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video on

Don't Miss

Interactive Radar