6 officers who took down Dayton mass shooter to receive Medal of Valor

Local News

Six officers who responded immediately to the threat in the Oregon District were thanked by city officials.

WASHINGTON (WLWT)- The six police officers who took down the Oregon District mass shooter are set to be awarded with the Medal of Valor by President Donald Trump on Monday.

Trump is set to present the Medal of Valor and Heroic Commendations to the six officers at the White House, one of the officers, Jeremy Campbell, told our affiliate WLWT.

The six officers were able to take down the gunman Aug. 4 within 30 seconds of the first shot. The shooting left nine people dead and dozens of others injured.

In addition to Campbell, the officers involved in the shooting have been identified as Sgt. William C. Knight; Officer Brian Rolfes; Officer Vincent Carter; Officer Ryan Nabel; and Officer David Denlinger.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

9-4 donate dayton strong

Tragedy in Dayton Stories

More Oregon District Shooting

Latest Video on WDTN.com

More Latest Video

Only on WDTN.com | Phil Wiedenheft

More profile-65422

Trending Stories

Interactive Radar

More As Seen on 2 NEWS