This state ordering those with COVID to isolate or face up to 5 years in prison

Coronavirus

MISSISSIPPI (WJW) — Those who contract COVID-19 in Mississippi are being asked to either isolate at home for 10 days or more or otherwise face a prison sentence of up to five years.

The new order was issued by the Mississippi State Department of Health on Friday as cases continue to mount in the state.

Since coronavirus can be life-threatening, those who don’t comply with the alert could also potentially face a $5,000 fine along with prison time.

Mississippi is one of the least vaccinated states in the country, with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reporting that only about 38% of the eligible population is fully vaccinated.

The order went into effect on Friday.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More As Seen on 2 NEWS

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More stories not to miss...

BestReviews

More BestReviews

Latest News Videos

'My entire foot looked like a sausage'; snakebite victim shares warning

KXAN talks to ex-attorney suing Texas physician who purposely broke abortion law

Thousands of murders, disappearances of Indigenous women remain unsolved

WFLA Now: Divers at Brian Laundrie Search, Gabby Petito's Death Ruled a Homicide

Dive team joins search for person of interest Brian Laundrie

Search for person of interest in Gabby Petito's death, Brian Laundrie, continues Wednesday

More News