Snowboarding at the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympic Games

Snowboarding at the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympic Games

NBC - Snowboarding at the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympic Games will be contested from Feb. 10-24, with medals awarded in ten different events.

Sochi in review

The slopestyle event made its Olympic debut in Sochi, and U.S. athletes swept the gold medals. Sage Kotsenburg landed a backside 1620, a trick he had never tried before, on his final jump to claim the men's title. In the women's competition, Jamie Anderson triumphed despite being in fifth place heading into her final run.

Switzerland's Iouri Podladtchikov successfully dethroned two-time Olympic halfpipe champion Shaun White. Podladtchikov, who is known as "I-Pod," landed the double cork 1440 cleanly, while White did not. White finished fourth and did not earn any medals in Sochi. 

American Kaitlyn Farrington edged three Olympic champions to earn the women's halfpipe gold medal. But she retired in 2015 at the age of 25 due to a congenital spine condition.

Russia's Vic Wild, who was born in the United States, won two gold medals for the host country. While he will likely attempt to defend his parallel giant slalom title, he will not have the opportunity to repeat in parallel slalom because the event was removed from the Olympic program. 

Competition format

Big air will make its Olympic debut in PyeongChang, while parallel slalom was removed from the Olympic program:

  • Men's halfpipe
  • Men's slopestyle
  • Men's big air
  • Men's snowboard cross
  • Men's parallel giant slalom
  • Women's halfpipe
  • Women's slopestyle
  • Women's big air
  • Women's snowboard cross
  • Women's parallel giant slalom


Snowboarding events will take place in two different venues in the PyeongChang Mountain Cluster. Big air will be held in the Alpensia Ski Jumping Centre. All other snowboarding events will take place in the Bokwang Snow Park.

Athletes to watch

Men's halfpipe

 Ryo Aono, Japan

 Ayumu Hirano, Japan

 Taku Hiraoka, Japan

 Iouri Podladtchikov, Switzerland

 Taylor Gold, United States

 Shaun White, United States

Men's slopestyle

 Jamie Nicholls, Great Britain

 Lucien Koch, Switzerland

 Chris Corning, United States

 Brock Crouch, United States

 Brandon Davis, United States

 Sage Kotsenburg, United States

Men's big air

 Michael Ciccarelli, Canada

 Max Parrot, Canada

 Seppe Smits, Belgium

 Marcus Kleveland, Norway

 Chas Guldemond, United States

Men's snowboard cross

 Alex Pullin, Australia

 Pierre Vaultier, France

 Nikolay Olyunin, Russia

 Nick Baumgartner, United States

 Alex Deibold, United States

Men's parallel giant slalom

 Radoslav Yankov, Bulgaria

 Roland Fischnaller, Italy

 Vic Wild, Russia

 Nevin Galmarini, Switzerland

 Zan Kosir, Slovenia

Women's halfpipe

 Cai Xuetong, China

 Liu Jiayu, China

 Kelly Clark, United States

 Chloe Kim, United States

 Maddie Mastro, United States

Women's slopestyle

 Enni Rukajarvi, Finland

 Silvia Mittermueller, Germany

 Cheryl Maas, Netherlands

 Jamie Anderson, United States

 Karly Shorr, United States

Women's big air

 Anna Gasser, Austria

 Cheryl Maas, Netherlands

 Lia-Mara Boesch, Switzerland

 Jaime Anderson, United States

 Julia Marino, United States

Women's snowboard cross

 Dominique Maltais, Canada

 Eva Samkova, Czech Republic

 Nelly Moenne Loccoz, France

 Chloe Trespeuch, France

 Lindsey Jacobellis, United States

Women's parallel giant slalom

 Ester Ledecka, Czech Republic

 Tomoka Takeuchi, Japan

 Alena Zavarzina, Russia

 Ladina Jenny, Switzerland

 Patrizia Kummer, Switzerland

More Stories

Meet the Team

Don't Miss

Latest News - Local

Video Center